top of page

Fish the dish! At Dubai Fish Hut Restaurant

What do you do on a lazy Friday when you don't feel like cooking, and are craving some tasty fish curry or masala fish? You head over to Dubai Fish Hut Restaurant!

I'm a fish HATER! I dislike any dish that has fish in it, but trust me when I say this, this restaurant just made me love fish!

Owned by Ragesh and Sunil, two very kind gentlemen who invited us over to review their dishes, the restaurant is a year and a half years old and is quietly secluded in the lanes of Oud Metha, behind Lamcy Plaza. Not surprisingly, with such great sea food dishes, the restaurant ranks proudly on Trip Advisor at #13 rubbing shoulders with Armani and other luxury restaurant. Don't be deceived! What I meant was this restaurant offers quality food for very reasonable prices!

For starters, we were offered:

Tawa fried spicy squid: A well presented plate of "tawa" (char) grilled spicy squids that tasted absolutely tasty with the spices overpowering the rubbery squid.

Tawa grill spicy full shrimps: There's a saying if the whole shrimp is cooked, the flavours are more, but I have to say the spicy shrimp was brilliant giving us tears in our eyes! Not in the emotional way, but in its spicy flavour which my family enjoyed sucking the juice out of it!

Rosemary squids and Lemon Butter Shrimps: These starters are perfect for children who cannot eat spicy or dislike spicy food. Hands down, the Lemon Butter Shrimp was mouthwatering giving us the zesty flavour of Lemon and buttery taste seasoned with herbs with white sauce on the side. The squids although rubbery was easy to digest because it was perfectly cooked for a child to be able to chew it!

After a good try out of these starters, I was looking forward to smelling and tasting my worst nightmare - fish! I expected the salty "fishy" odour, but to my surprise there was nothing of that sort!

Brought to our table was a big plate of the Turkish sea bream fish smothered with spicy chilly green paste on one side, and mustard paste on the other! And another plate arrived to our table of the same type of fish, this time with spicy red paste on one side, and Lemon and Thime on the other side. You can otherwise request for just one type, we were offered this to try all 4 flavours on the fish.

Again, the fish cooked to perfection and just melted in my mouth teasing my palate with the flavours of lemon and thime, and mustard since these were my favourite, whilst the rest of my family enjoyed a lip smacking taste of the spicy grilled and juicy supple fish.

If you're worried about too much oil used to fry the fish, then you're just wrong! :) By far, I feel this is the only restaurant that char grills their fish and other sea food, fried upon request. You're in for a healthy weekend treat! :)

Overall, the taste of every dish was brilliant and I'd definitely rate this 5/5. Cleanliness of the restaurant and washroom - 5/5, service - 5/5. Price and value - 5/5. Taste of the dishes - 5/5

This is definitely a restaurant to be at if you're in for some spicy and finger licking flavours of sea food.

The price for what we were offered is listed below:

1 plate of sea bream fish - AED 55

1 plate of shrimps - AED 26

2 plates of squids - AED 28 approx.


Featured Posts
Recent Posts
Archive
Search By Tags
No tags yet.
Follow Us
  • Facebook Basic Square
bottom of page