top of page

Mediterranean Night at Sheraton Jumeirah Beach Resort

I had never thought about what Mediterranean food would taste like, the only image in my mind was grill and healthy - and this clearly did not define my taste palate! I'm the one who sinks her teeth into burgers and drinks double chocolate!

However, I was invited by the very kind PR team of Sheraton Jumeirah for a tasting review of their Mediterranean Nights at The Palm Garden Restaurant. I gladly obliged to try it out, however doing my homework of how not to be disappointed by grill, and to embrace being healthy!

When we reached the hotel, we were sat down by the welcoming staff and were offered our drinks - I asked for a fresh Watermelon Juice whilst my partner asked for Pineapple Juice. I have to say the juices were fresh and absolutely refreshing to move on to appetizers.

Hesitant a bit thinking again "oh my, it's all going to be vegetables :(" I was proved wrong (gladly)! I was taken aback by the beautiful salad spread - from cocktail shrimps to hummus, sushi rolls and more.

Overall, the salad tasted very fresh, my favorites were:

1. Chickpeas and codfish salad which tantalized my taste buds with seasoned herbs, semi cooked French beans, semi-boiled potato and sweet onion, perfectly blended to give a Mediterranean twist.

2. Grilled Oyster Mushroom with Feta cheese, a great one to have on the side if you're having Grape. The mushrooms were sautéed gently and preserved its water. When chewed, you can feel the actual taste of mushroom, but it goes very well with the Feta cheese.

After having a plate of heavy salad, we went around the restaurant so we were able to enjoy dinner. We found that the restaurant is huge, and can accommodate guests indoors as well as outdoor. If you like soft jazz, and a pool view, not very far from the beach, then I'd suggest you sit outside. However, the only concern is, you would have to walk in and out for the buffet since it is in the restaurant.

The ambience in the restaurant is a quiet fine-dining place, with not much visitors.

Heading on for dinner, I was stumped to see the spread! From pizzas to pasta, steaks, and grilled fish. All in one word would just be 'YUM'.

We started of with the pizza, which was topped with mozzarella cheese and tomato puree. I thought this wouldn't taste as good as other pizzas topped with bacon etc. but again I was wrong. The pizza was made Mediterranean style with a sweet and cheesy taste - good to start your dinner with.

We then moved on to taste 'Moussaka with Minced Beef'. This dish tasted so good that it left me wanting more. It seemed similar to lasagna, with minced beef blended in sauce, and added onto lasagna sheets, with mozzarella cheese on the top.

Then went on to try the Asparagus and Shrimps risotto, which tasted bland and creamy. The shrimps tasted great, but the risotto seemed slightly overcooked. It reminded me of the 'Alphabet noodle soup' I used to have as a child - good memories!

However, the only dish that I wasn't too impressed about was the Pasta in mushroom cream sauce. The mushroom sauce overpowered the pasta taste, and it felt too "mushroomy".

From the buffet, my favorites were:

1. Grattin Potatoes - cooked in rich white sauce and seasoned with herbs. A perfect dish to go with Hummour fish or chicken.

2. Grilled Hammour - The fish was cooked to perfection in creamy butter sauce giving the flavors of olives and anchovies

3. Lamb Tenderloin - my favorite! Got it 'well done' with mash potato on the side as well as Grattin potatoes.

After the wonderful buffet, we obviously had to end our night on a sweet note, and I have to say I was quite impressed by the dessert spread. My favorites were Red Velvet cake, Strawberry soufflé, and brownies!

Overall, the Mediterranean Night was a great one taking us on a culinary journey through Mediterranean spice and flavor. Absolutely loved the food, and service.

I'd like to specially thank the very kind Sofia Santos - Director of Marketing, Anuj Tiwari - Host at the restaurant who made sure we were comfortable, and Chef Hitesh - for taking the time to interview on 'THE STAR'.

What you need to know:

Where does the dining themed nights take place?

The Palm Garden at Sheraton Jumeirah Beach Resort organizes themed dining nights every day.

When is the Mediterranean night?

Every Tuesday

What are the timings for the buffet?

From 7pm - 10:30pm

Price per person (only food)?

AED 205. Drinks can be ordered a la carte


Featured Posts
Recent Posts
Archive
Search By Tags
No tags yet.
Follow Us
  • Facebook Basic Square
bottom of page